Follow on WordPress.com

Death is knocking on the door, and I wish God was near. #Christianity

It’s late in the evening and I’m stuck in a hotel because my flight was canceled on the way back home to see my father who is in an ICU.  He is a wonderful man who has been an amazing father.  When I spoke with my precious mother she talked about how he reads his bible daily, and when he can’t attend church he will watch a preacher on TV.  Why did she bring that up?  Because there is a part of her that hopes God will give him extra points in heaven.  She is hoping God will give him some bonus points and help him survive this difficult time.

I totally understand the way she feels.  I too wish that God was up there ready to throw a miracle down on my father.  And I wish that I could pray with confidence that God was listening and actually considering saving my father’s life when I pray, but I can no longer believe that is a possibility.  The truth of the matter is…my father is in the hands of the health of his heart.  If he can recover he will, and if he can’t then he won’t.  It isn’t in God’s hands.  I do believe in God, but I just can’t believe He is in control.  And that means I can’t give Him credit OR hold him responsible for the outcome.  I know that some may see me as an atheist, but I simply choose to let God off the hook for the bad things that happen in life.


6 Comments on “Death is knocking on the door, and I wish God was near. #Christianity”

  1. CHope says:

    RS, I hope your father recovers, it saddens me that you’re going through this with someone you care about so much.

    Whatever the outcome of your current devastation, know that there are many of us here in blog world to encourage you.

    A situation like this is so unpredictable. I am so sorry for what you and your family are going through right now. I’m sure that the weather related lay-over doesn’t resolve the loneliness, but hopefully, you can find some sort of peace in the solitude.

    Please keep us updated.

    Take care,
    Charity

  2. RS — Charity shared my same sentiments. What a trying time for you. I’m sorry to read that your father has been in ICU, and the toll it’s taking on you and your family. That totally suckz about your flight cancellation.

    Words in a comment section, though they be supportive, really don’t mean much coming from total strangers I guess. But we can all empathize and be a support – as in offering an ear, a shoulder, should you need one.

    Keeping you and your family in my thoughts.
    Victoria

  3. I can relate, since I am dealing with similar issues (cancer) in my family right now. My reaction was like yours. I am grateful for people’s prayers, but I don’t think they will help. I hope you and your family are well supported during this time. I hope that you can find some comfort during this sadness and waiting. You are in my thoughts.


Leave a comment